Politics • 29 May, 2019

​Nur-Sultan Hosts Anniversary Meeting of Supreme Eurasian Economic Council

617 time viewed

Nur-Sultan has hosted an anniversary meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, to commemorate the 25th anniversary of First President Nursultan Nazarbayev's idea for Eurasian integration and the 5thanniversary of the creation of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), reports the press service of MFA.

The meeting was attended by First President Nazarbayev, President of Kazakhstan Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko, President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov, President of Russia Vladimir Putin, and Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan.

President of Moldova Igor Dodon also took part in the meeting as Head of the EAEU observer states, and President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon as an honorary guest of the EAEU.

During the meeting, a historic decision was made to award First President Nazarbayev the title of “Honorary Chairman of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council”, in recognition of his role and contribution in creating, developing and strengthening the EAEU.

A Joint Statement by the members of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council on the 5th anniversary of the signing of the EAEU Treaty was the main document adopted at the summit, at the initiative of the First President. This is a formal declaration to the global community regarding the EAEU's success and achievements over its five years of work.

Reflecting the celebratory nature of the event, members of the Supreme Council approved a list of the representatives of the EAEU member states and the Eurasian Economic Commission to be awarded commemorative medals “for contribution to the Eurasian Economic Union development”. The Eurasian Economic Commission made a fitting proposal in this regard, and around 100 Kazakh citizens were mentioned in the list. They include representatives of government bodies, and business and scientific communities who have made significant contributions to the EAEU development.

The meeting addressed the current activities and prospects for further development of the EAEU, including various areas of multilateral cooperation within the EAEU.

In particular, the heads of the EAEU member states reviewed the implementation of the EAEU Digital Agenda, the signing of a trade agreement with Serbia, as well as agreements on the exchange of information on goods and vehicles for international transport across the customs borders of the EAEU and China. In addition, the Heads of State were informed regarding the implementation of the EAEU's main international activities for the past year, on the results achieved and the necessary decisions when concluding EAEU trade agreements with third countries. At the meeting, the Heads of State set the key guidelines for the EAEU macroeconomic policy for 2019-2020.

During the meeting, First President Nazarbayev proposed a new vision to further develop integration in the Eurasian area, stressing the need to expand the EAEU strategic framework and promote the idea of integration. The First President emphasized the importance of establishing full-fledged economic cooperation between the EAEU and the Eurasian Economic Union, the European Union, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization and ASEAN, as well as increasing the development and implementation of major joint infrastructure projects within China's “One Belt, One Road” initiative, which should be seen as an integral continuation of the EAEU potential in infrastructure and logistics.

At the meeting, the Heads of the EAEU member states decided to establish a subsidiary body – the EAEU Industrial Policy Council. They also adopted an order on liberalization of certain service sectors within the EAEU, which would contribute to the creation of a single service market in cartography, surveying and meteorology. A number of international agreements were signed to govern issues in creating an electric power market, the traceability mechanism of goods imported into the EAEU customs territory, as well as a protocol on amendments to the EAEU Treaty and the Customs Code.

The signing of the Agreement on the traceability mechanism of goods imported into the EAEU customs territory will create conditions that exclude evading customs and tax payments, as well as monitor the turnover of goods.

The meeting reflected the friendship and mutual understanding between the EAEU's members, and all issues discussed resulted in mutually beneficial decisions. An agreement was reached on holding the next Supreme Council meeting in the Armenian capital Yerevan on October 1, 2019.

Following the summit, 21 international documents were adopted and signed.

Note to editors: The Eurasian Economic Union Treaty was signed by the presidents of the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation on May 29, 2014 in Astana. The Treaty entered into force on January 1, 2015.

The EAEU members are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.

According to preliminary data, the mutual trade volume of the Republic of Kazakhstan with the EAEU states for January-December 2018 in monetary terms amounted to $19.1 billion, which is 7.5% more than in 2017.

Last news

2.6 million students to study in distance

Education • 06 August, 2020

375 people died from coronavirus infection

Coronavirus • 13 July, 2020

Turkey sends humanitarian aid to Kazakhstan

Coronavirus • 13 July, 2020

Kazakhstan mourns Covid-19 victims today

Kazakhstan • 13 July, 2020

How the main city of Kazakhstan developed

Kazakhstan • 08 July, 2020

Russian doctors arrive in Kazakhstan

Coronavirus • 07 July, 2020

Nursultan Nazarbayev marks his 80th birthday

Елбасы • 07 July, 2020

Similar news